HOME > News > Topics > The 9th National Karate Cup

The 9th National Karate Cup


Date: October 4th, 2015
Place: Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Organizer: WKO Honduras Branch (Contact Nestor Cubas Alvarado)

As part of the events to celebrate the 80th anniversary of friendly relations between Central America and Japan, the WKO Shinkyokushinkai Honduras Branch and the Japan Embassy in Honduras worked as one to make the 9th National Karate Cup an official event of the JAPAN-SICA (Central American Integration System in spanish) Friendship Year.

The Ambassador of Japan, Kenji Okada and the Cultural Aggregate of the Embassy, Shoko Mitsui attended the competition. Mr. Okada gave a warm welcome speech and WKO Country Representative, Mr. Nestor Cubas Alvarado reported that this year marked a success to WKO Honduras Branch as Greissy Molina qualified to compete at the 11th World Championship in Tokyo at the end of the month.

Competitors from around the country gathered in Tegucigalpa, Honduras and demonstrated strong and effective techniques to reach the highest positions. Competitors from other Full Contact Organizations did also fight in cooperation as happening in the world.

The winners were:
1. Greissy Karely Molina
2. Carlos Ortiz Lainez
3. Marlon Murillo
3. Felipe Nery Mendoza

Open Adults
1. Reina Montoya
2. Ana Izaguirre
3. Marina Reyes
3. Elga Gattorno

Up to 8 years old
1. Fernanda Osorio
2. Marcela Molina
3. Pamela Rodriguez

Female Teens
1. Samantha Flores
2. Nathalie Sierra

Up to 5 years old
1. Sergio Fuentes
2. Mauricio Reyes

Up to 7 years old
1. Joshua Zuniga
2. Daniel Ulloa
3. Javier Molina
3. Santiago Hernandadez

Up to 9 years old
1. Franco Herrera
2. Karlo Paredes
3. Oscar Flores
3. Angel Solano

Up to 11 years old
1. Alejandro Chichilla
2. Adrian Rodriguez
3. Fernando Hernandez

Male Teens Lightweight
1. Xander Ramos
2. Pedro Caballero
3. Nahum Lainez
3. Oscar Peña

Male Heavyweight
1. Miguel Ramos
2. Cristian Cruz
3. Isaac Lainez
3. Marvin Oliva

1. Ronnal Hernandez
2. Pavel Henriquez
3. Gabriel Alonzo
3. Daniel Alonzo

1. Nelson Murcia
2. Marlon Murillo
3. Carlos Ortiz

1. Roger Galo
2. Eduardo Murillo
3. Ariel Huete
3. David Avila